With almost 600 members, The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences – Pacific Southwest Chapter,  serves television professionals in San Diego, Bakersfield, Las Vegas, Palm Springs, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Santa Maria.


The San Diego Chapter was chartered by the National Television Academy in 1972 under the leadership of its founding president, Ralph Hodges. The Chapter began awarding Emmys for outstanding achievement in San Diego area television in 1974.

In 1990 the chapter began awarding Emmys in the Southwest region as the San Diego/Southwestern Area Emmy Awards. In 2001 the name was changed to Pacific Southwest.

If you are looking for the Los Angeles Area or the Primetime Emmy® Awards, click here.

Board of Governors

NATAS Pacific Southwest Chapter
Officers and Board of Governors

The 2016-2018 Officers

President, Donn Johnson, Director, KPBS-TV

Vice President, Kristen Castillo, Owner, Kristen Castillo Media

Secretary & Legal Chair Vacant

Treasurer Vacant

Awards Chair and Alternate National Trustee, MaryEllen Eagelston, Operations Technician, NBC 7 San Diego

National Trustee, Peggy Pico, Freelance Anchor & Host

The 2016-2018 Governors

Gregg Baker, Adjunct Professor, Palomar College

Colleen Cole-Velasquez, Executive Producer, Pulse Media International

Lindsay Hood, Producer, San Diego 6

Tuba Gokcek, Producer

Timothy Kiley, Assistant News Director, KESQ

Jerry McCormick, Producer, Fox 5

Ena Newell, Production Manager, KPBS-TV

Greg Penetrante, Engineer, SDSU

David Reese, News Director, KMIR-TV

Yalda Sharifie, Owner, Yalda Media

Audra Stafford, Reporter, San Diego 6

Mike Towe, Owner, M2 Digital Post


NATAS PSW Foundation CEO,  Gregg Baker

NATAS PSW Foundation Vice President, Yalda Sharif

Acting Executive Director, Deborah Lawrence